ABOUT 2012 HANG LUNG MATHEMATICS AWARDS

I. Participation

In the 2012 HLMA, over 250 students and 71 teachers registered, representing nearly 90 teams from 62 schools. Among them, 44 teams submitted research reports.

II. Winners

Gold Award

Team Member: Chung Hang Kwan Teacher: Mr. Yat Ting Tong

School: Sir Ellis Kadoorie Secondary School (West Kowloon)

Topic: Towards Catalan's Conjecture

Silver Award

Team Members: Kai Lai Chan, Tsz Nam Chan, Ho Yin Lau,

Kai Shing Mok, Yiu Shing Wong

Teacher: Mr. Sai Hung Chan

School: Sha Tin Government Secondary School Topic: Cutting Twisted Solid Tori (TSTs)

Bronze Award

Team Member: Tsam Kiu Pun Teacher: Mr. Cyril Lee

School: St. Mary's Canossian College Topic: Complexity Reduction of Graph

Honorable Mentions (arranged by school name in alphabetical order)

1. Team Members: Ho Wai Chan, Tsz Hei Lam, Yuk Kei Leung,

Hiu Ying Man, Chun Shing Wong

Teacher: Mr. Kim Fung Lee

School: Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School

Topic: Trajectories in Regular Pentagon

2. Team Members: Yat Long Lee, Kwok Chung Tam

Teacher: Mr. Nelson Lai Shun Chung

School: Carmel Holy Word Secondary School

Topic: A Study on Polyhedron with All Triangular Faces:

Nine-point Circle Co-sphere

3. Team Members: Wing Man Chik, Ka Kit Ku, Ming Hong Lui,

Long Hin Sin

Teacher: Mr. Yan Ching Chan

School: Po Leung Kuk Centenary Li Shiu Chung

Memorial College

Topic: Manipulating the Fermat's Equation

4. Team Members: Hon Ka Hui, Kwun Hang Lai, Tin Chuen Tsang,

Kin Lam Tsoi, Cheong Tai Yeung

Teacher: Mr. Chi Keung Lai School: Shatin Pui Ying College

Topic: From 'Chopsticks' to Periodicity of Generalized

Fibonacci Sequence

5. Team Members: Him Shek Kwan, Ka Chun Lo, Chin Ching Wan

Teacher: Mr. Chun Yu Kwong

School: Wong Shiu Chi Secondary School

Topic: How to Cut a Piece of Paper - Making Paper Cones

with the Greatest Total Capacity

III. Committees and Panel (with affiliations at the time of the Awards)

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee comprises world renowned mathematicians and is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards. It oversees the whole process of assessment, including the review of the research project reports and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition as well as the awards.

Chair: Professor Shing-Tung Yau, 1982 Fields Medalist; Harvard University

Professor Raymond Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Rafe Mazzeo, Stanford University

Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Seiki Nishikawa, Tohoku University

Professor Duong H. Phong, Columbia University

Professor Rever Sjamaar, Cornell University

Professor Ye Tian, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Michael Zieve, University of Michigan

Screening Panel

The Screening Panel is a subcommittee of the Scientific Committee. It handles the initial screening of each report, supervises the external review process, and serves as a bridge between all referees and members of the Scientific Committee.

Chair: Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Chi-Hin Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Conan Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Charles Li, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of the society and serves as an advisory body that oversees the operation of the competition.

Chair: Professor Sir James A. Mirrlees, 1996 Nobel Laureate in Economics; The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Tony F. Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr. Siu Leung Ma, Fung Kai Public School

Dr. Stephen Tommis, The Hong Kong Academy for Gifted Education

Professor Zhouping Xin, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Lo Yang, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Ms. Carolina Yip, Hang Lung Properties Limited

Dr. Chee Tim Yip, Pui Ching Middle School

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a subcommittee of the Steering Committee. It is in charge of the administration, promotion, team registration, communication, and organization of events including the oral defense.

Chair: Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Ka-Luen Cheung, The Hong Kong Institute of Education

Dr. Leung-Fu Cheung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Secretariat:

Ms. Mavis Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms. Mandy Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms. Serena Yip, The Chinese University of Hong Kong