About 2018 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards

I. Participation

In the 2018 HLMA, 260 students and 62 teachers registered, representing over 90 teams from over 60 schools. Among them, 55 teams submitted research reports.

II. Winners

Gold Award

Team Member:	Zhiyuan Bai
Teacher:	Mr. Pui Keung Law
School:	La Salle College
Topic:	On the Trapezoidal Peg Problem among Convex Curves

Silver Award

No Silver Award was given out this year.

Bronze Award

Team Member:	Tsz Chung Li
Teacher:	Dr. Kit Wing Yu
School:	United Christian College
Topic:	On the Divisibility of Catalan Numbers

Hang Lung Mathematics Awards Vol. 8 (2018)

Honorable Mentions (listed by school name in alphabetical order)

1.	Team Member:	Chun Szeto
	Teacher:	Mr. Alexander Kin Chit O
	School:	G.T. (Ellen Yeung) College
	Topic:	Doing Indefinite Integrals without Integration
2.	Team Member:	Ho Leung Fong
	Teacher:	Mr. Hing Pan Fong
	School:	Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School
	Topic:	A Generalization of the Gauss Sum
3.	Team Members:	Lok Kan Yuen, Omega Nok To Tong,
		Ethan Lok Kan Tsang
	Teacher:	Mr. Ho Fung Lee
	School:	Pui Ching Middle School
	Topic:	A Markov Model of the Busy Footbridge Problem
4.	Team Member:	Tin Wai Lau
	Teacher:	Mr. Ho Fung Lee
	School:	Pui Ching Middle School
	Topic:	Investigation on Mordell's Equation
5.	Team Members:	Trevor Kai Hei Cheung, Hon Ching Ko
	Teacher:	Mr. Pak Leong Cheung
	School:	St. Paul's Co-educational College
	Topic:	Old and New Generalizations of Classical Triangle Centres
	÷	to Tetrahedra

III. Committees and Panel (affiliations at the time of the Awards)

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards and comprises world renowned mathematicians. It oversees the whole process of assessment, including reviewing the research project reports and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition as well as the awards.

Chair: Professor Zhouping Xin, 2004 Morningside Medal of Mathematics Gold Medalist; The Chinese University of Hong Kong Members: Professor Tony F. Chan, JP, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, Tsinghua University Professor Lawrence C. Evans, University of California, Berkeley Professor David Gabai, Princeton University Professor Brendan Hassett, Brown University Professor Bong Lian, Brandeis University Professor Rafe Mazzeo, Stanford University Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong Professor Ngo Viet Trung, Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology Professor Raman Parimala, Emory University Professor J. Hyam Rubinstein, The University of Melbourne Professor Tom Yau Heng Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Po Lam Yung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Jun Zou, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Screening Panel

The Screening Panel is a subcommittee of the Scientific Committee. It handles the initial screening of each report, supervises the external review process, and serves as a bridge between all referees and members of the Scientific Committee.

Chair: Professor Tom Yau Heng Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong *Members:*

Dr. Ping Shun Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Man Chuen Cheng, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Charles Chun Che Li, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Mark Jingjing Xiao, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Po Lam Yung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

HANG LUNG MATHEMATICS AWARDS Vol. 8 (2018)

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of the society and serves as an advisory body that oversees the operation of the competition.

Chair: Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, 2007 Chern Prize Recipient; Tsinghua University

Members:

Professor Thomas Kwok Keung Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Kwok Wai Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Raymond Honfu Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Tony F. Chan, JP, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong Mr. Siu Leung Ma, BBS, MH, Fung Kai Public School Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong Professor Tai Kai Ng, The Hong Kong Academy of Gifted Education Professor Yang Wang, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Ms. Susan Wong, Hang Lung Properties Limited Professor Zhouping Xin, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Dr. Chee-tim Yip, Princeton (Shenzhen) International School

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a subcommittee of the Steering Committee. It is in charge of the administration, promotion, team registration, communication, and organization of events including the oral defense.

Chair: Professor Thomas Kwok Keung Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong *Members:*

Dr. Kai Leung Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Kwok Wai Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Ka Luen Cheung, The Education University of Hong Kong Dr. Chi Hin Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Secretariat:

Ms. Judy Wing Lam Chu, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Ms. Serena Wing Hang Yip, The Chinese University of Hong Kong