ABOUT 2016 HANG LUNG MATHEMATICS AWARDS

I. Participation

In the 2016 HLMA, nearly 240 students and 64 teachers registered, representing nearly 80 teams from 60 schools. Among them, 46 teams submitted research reports.

II. Winners

Gold Award

Team Member: Sun Kai Leung

Teacher: Mr. Yiu Chung Leung School: Bishop Hall Jubilee School

Topic: On the Summation of Fractional Parts and its Application

Silver Award

Team Members: Tsz Fung Yu, Tsz Chun Wong, Janice Ling

Teacher: Mr. Ho Fung Lee

School: Pui Ching Middle School

Topic: On the Iterated Circumcentres Conjecture and its Variants

Bronze Award

Team Member: Wai Chung Cheng Teacher: Ms. Dora Po Ki Yeung School: Diocesan Girls' School

Topic: A Geometric Approach to the Second Non-trivial Case of

the Erdős-Szekeres Conjecture

Honorable Mentions (arranged by school name in alphabetical order)

1. Team Member: Man Yi Kwok

Teacher: Mr. Kim Fung Lee

School: Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School

Topic: Congruences of Solutions of the Pell's Equation

2. Team Members: Chit Yuen Lam, Christy Sze Wai Kok,

King Chun Chan, Hin Tung Chung

Teacher: Mr. Tat Cheong Wong School: G.T. (Ellen Yeung) College

Topic: A Synthetic Approach on Studying the Mysterious Right

Kite and its Applications on Cryptography in related to Poincaré Disk Model in the Views of Euclid Geometry

3. Team Member: Hoi Wai Yu

Teacher: Ms. Mee Lin Luk School: La Salle College

Topic: The Generalized Tower of Hanoi Problem

4. Team Member: Chak Him Au

Teacher: Mr. Yan Ching Chan

School: Po Leung Kuk Centenary Li Shiu Chung Memorial

College

Topic: On Hilbert Functions and Positive-definite Quadratic

Forms

5. Team Members: Kin Ip Mong, Chun Ming Lai, Siu Hong Mak

Teacher: Mr. Chun Yu Kwong

School: Wong Shiu Chi Secondary School Topic: Triples of Sums of Two Squares

III. Committees and Panel (with affiliations at the time of the Awards)

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee comprises world renowned mathematicians and is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards. It oversees the whole process of assessment, including the review of the research project reports and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition as well as the awards.

Chair: Professor Shing-Tung Yau, 1982 Fields Medalist; Harvard University and The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Raymond Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, Tsinghua University

Professor Dejun Feng, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Wee Teck Gan, National University of Singapore

Professor Wei Ping Li, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Bong Lian, Brandeis University

Professor Chang Shou Lin, Taiwan University

Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Ye Tian, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Michael Zieve, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor

Screening Panel

The Screening Panel is a subcommittee of the Scientific Committee. It handles the initial screening of each report, supervises the external review process, and serves as a bridge between all referees and members of the Scientific Committee.

Chair: Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Man-Chuen Cheng, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Chi-Hin Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Conan Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Charles Li, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of the society and serves as an advisory body that oversees the operation of the competition.

Chair: Professor Sir James A. Mirrlees, 1996 Nobel Laureate in Economics; The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Tony F. Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, Tsinghua University

Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr. Siu Leung Ma, Fung Kai Public School

Ms. Michelle Mak, Hang Lung Properties Limited

Professor Tai-Kai Ng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Zhouping Xin, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Chee Tim Yip, Pui Ching Middle School

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a subcommittee of the Steering Committee. It is in charge of the administration, promotion, team registration, communication, and organization of events including the oral defense.

Chair: Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Kai-Leung Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Ka-Luen Cheung, The Education University of Hong Kong

Dr. Leung-Fu Cheung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Secretariat:

Ms. Aggie Law, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms. Konnie Pak, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms. Serena Yip, The Chinese University of Hong Kong