About 2023 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards

I. Participation

Over 70 teams from around 50 secondary schools in Hong Kong participated in the 2023 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards.

II. Winners

Gold Award

Team Members:	Kyan Ka Hin CHEUNG, Ethan Jon Yi SOH
Teacher:	Mr. Thomas JOHNSON
School:	Harrow International School Hong Kong
Topic:	On the Properties of the Semigroup Generated by the
	RL Fractional Integral

Silver Award

Team Members:	MOK Chun Hei, WONG Hei
Teacher:	Mr. CHEUNG Tin Yau
School:	S.K.H. Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School
Topic:	Least Optimal Square Packing in a Square

Bronze Award

Team Member:	TAM Hei Tung
Teacher:	Mr. FONG Yuk Lun
School:	HKUGA College
Topic:	On the Parametrization of Egyptian Fractions

Honorable Mentions (of equal ranking and listed by school name)

Team Members: Teacher: School: Topic:	CHAN Chi Wah Mason, CHAVEZ MOCAN Lucas, CHONG Tsz Sing, PAHILWANI Himansh Vijay, WONG Tsz Ho Mr. CHAN Long Tin Diocesan Boys' School Structure of Critical Groups of Circulant Graphs
Team Members: Teacher: School: Topic:	LO Sze Chit Ryan, NG Chi Kuan Jane, LAU Ho Lam, WONG Kin Long Mr. FONG Yuk Lun HKUGA College Algorithmic Classification on the Expansion of Fractions in Negative Rational Base
Team Members: Teacher: School: Topic:	WONG Ho Tung, LAM Ngai Wang, KWONG Wang Chit Mr. FAN Yan Lam Pui Ching Middle School Mean Shadow of Rotating Objects
Team Members: Teacher: School: Topic:	CHAN Kwan Yu, NG Hok Lai Mr. CHEUNG Pak Leong St. Paul's Co-educational College Generalising Orthocentres of Triangles to Simplices as the Isogonal Conjugates of the Circumcentres

III. Committees and Panel (with affiliation at the time of the Awards)

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee comprises world-renowned mathematicians and is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards. It oversees the whole process of assessment, including the review of the research project reports and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition as well as the awards.

Chair: Professor Richard Schoen, 2017 Wolf Prize Laureate in Mathematics; Stanford University, and University of California, Irvine
Members:
Professor Raymond Hon Fu Chan, City University of Hong Kong
Professor Andrew G. Cohen, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor Frederick Tsz-Ho Fong, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor Jun Kigami, Kyoto University
Professor Wei-Ping Li, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong
Professor Kenneth A. Ribet, University of California, Berkeley
Professor Tom Yau Heng Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Hong Wang, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University
Professor Ya-xiang Yuan, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Professor Shou-Wu Zhang, Princeton University

Screening Panel

The Screening Panel under the Scientific Committee handles the initial review of the submitted project reports, supervises the second and final round of the review process, and liaises with all referees and members of the Scientific Committee regarding the project reports.

Chair: Professor Frederick Tsz-Ho Fong

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Members:

Professor Zhigang Bao, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Ivan Chi Ho Ip, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Tianling Jin, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Eric Marberg, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Maosheng Xiong, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of society, serves as the advisory body and provides support, guidance, and oversight of the Awards.

Chair: Professor George F. Smoot, 2006 Nobel Laureate in Physics; The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Members: Professor Thomas Kwok Keung Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Tony F. Chan, JP, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology Mr. Alfred Cheung, NeoUnion ESC Organization Dr. Owen H. Ko, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Shing Yu Leung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Leevan Ling, Hong Kong Baptist University Mr. Siu Leung Ma, BBS, MH, Fung Kai Public School Professor Michael Kwok Po Ng, Hong Kong Baptist University Professor Yang Wang, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Ms. Susan Wong, Hang Lung Properties Limited Professor Tong Yang, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Dr. Chee Tim Yip, Princeton Sky Lake International School (Shenzhen)

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, which reports to the Steering Committee, is responsible for the operation and administration of the competition. Its Secretariat provides general administrative support to the Awards.

Chair: Professor Shing Yu Leung The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Members:

Professor Jimmy Chi Hung Fung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Dr. Stanley Hon-Ming Ho, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Dr. Albert Yin-Bon Ku, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Chi Man Leung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Chi Wai Yu, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Secretariat:

Ms. Niki Hiu Yan Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology