## ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

It has been a few years since the first series of winning papers of Hang Lung Mathematics Awards (HLMA) was published and it is not as easy as expected to continue a second series. We are glad to see the birth of the second series, thanks again to the donations from Hang Lung Properties.

In 2004, Mr. Ronnie C. Chan and Professor Shing-Tung Yau "shook" the community of mathematics education in Hong Kong "by a gentle touch". Hang Lung Mathematics Awards was inaugurated that year with their initiation. Professor Yau has been the academic leader for the Awards while Mr. Ronnie C. Chan and Hang Lung Properties have provided generous financial support throughout the years.

HLMA is reputed for its intellectual excellence, which stems from a rigorous process of assessment and review and the strong governance of the Scientific Committee. The professional judgment of Wenyi Chen, Hui Feng, Yaoping Hou, Jiaxin Hu, Jianguo Huang, Wen Huang, Rongheng Li, Qinghui Liu, Jihua Ma, Kung Fu Ng, Tingting Qin, Changzheng Qu, Hui Rao, Song Shao, Yugang Shi, Baorui Song, Bo Tan, Zhenhan Tu, Jiayan Yao, Chengjian Zhang, Shunli Zhang, and Guobiao Zhou is crucial in the process. The Screening Panel is indebted to their dedicated efforts.

For all the years, HLMA has also benefited from the excellent guidance of the Steering Committee which resulted in the wide recognition of the Awards not only in the education sector, but the community as a whole. The Executive Committee also wishes to express its appreciation to a group of silent heroes, including the colleagues in the department and the secretariat led by Serena Yip. In addition, the contribution of the team led by Carolina Yip and Susan Wong from Hang Lung Properties has been invaluable.

We are fortunate that Kwok Wai Chan has joined and led the editorial work of this series. The continual support of Man Chuen Cheng and Jingjing Xiao is vital. They would like to express their sincere gratitude to Alex Fok and Kwok Kun Kwong for their careful reading and editorial comment on the papers. The technical team led by Ka Ho Wong, the coordination of Aggie Law, and the team led by Carolina Yip also played a crucial role in the editorial process.

Thomas Au Kwok Wai Chan