HANG LUNG MATHEMATICS AWARDS Vol. 2 (2006)

Acknowledgements

The publishing of this book has been made possible by donations from Hang Lung Properties.

The contribution to mathematics education from the initiators of Hang Lung Mathematics Awards, Mr. Ronnie Chan and Professor Shing-Tung Yau, will be marked in history. Professor Yau provides the academic leadership and vision for the Awards and he is also one of the editors of this volume. With the support of Mr. Ronnie Chan, Hang Lung Properties has been providing the financial support for the Awards and additional funding for the editorial and publishing cost of this volume.

The reputation of an academic award is always established upon its rigorous process of assessment and review. The Scientific Committee is the cornerstone of this intellectual excellence. The Screening Panel would like to thank Denix Auroux, Jianguo Huang, Jiaxin Hu, Charles Li, Qinghui Liu, Hui Rao, Yuguang Shi, Baorui Song, Ping-Kwan Tam, Yiming Xiao, Guangyuan Zhang, Guobiao Zhou for their professional judgment.

The Steering Committee has contributed greatly to the popularity of the Awards in society. Many students, teachers, and schools were involved and participated in the competition. The Executive Committee, chaired by Thomas Au, is indebted to the secretariat led by Serena Yip and the assistance of Vris Cheung. The cooperation of Susan Wong, Joyce Kwong, and Joyce Leung from Hang Lung Properties has been invaluable.

This volume will never be perfect without the commitment of Kung-Fu Ng who led the editorial work. He would like to express his sincere gratitude to Yuen-Ying Wong and Wei Zhou for their careful reading and comment on the winning papers. The technical work of Yat-Ming Cheung and Chun-Ngai Cheung and the coordination of Mavis Chan had also played a crucial role in the editorial process.

> Thomas Au Kung-Fu Ng