About 2021 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards

I. Participation

Over 60 teams from nearly 40 secondary schools in Hong Kong have participated in the 2021 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards.

II. Winners

Gold Award

Team Member: CHAN Tsz Hin Teacher: Mr. LEE Ho Fung

School: Pui Ching Middle School

Topic: On Non-Torsion Solutions of Homogeneous Linear Systems

over Rings

Silver Award

Team Member: LUO On Ki

Teacher: Mr. LEE Ho Fung

School: Pui Ching Middle School

Topic: The Johnson-Leader-Russell Question on Square Posets

Bronze Award

Team Member: LAI Wai Lok

Teacher: Mr. CHEUNG Pak Leong

School: St. Paul's Co-educational College

Topic: Solvability of the General Pell's Equation, Quadratic

Residuosity, and Real Quadratic Fields of Class Number Two

Honorable Mentions (of equal ranking and listed by school name and surname of the first-named team member in alphabetical order)

Team Members: CHENG Nick Hang, SHUM Hei Chai, TONG Chun Shing

Teacher: Mr. CHAN Long Tin School: Diocesan Boys' School

Topic: On the Variations of the Brachistochrone Curve

Team Member: CHUI Tsz Fung
Teacher: Mr. CHAN Long Tin
School: Diocesan Bovs' School

Topic: On the Basel Problem: Generalizations to other Power Series

Team Member: Myron LAM

Teacher: Mr. CHAN Long Tin School: Diocesan Boys' School

Topic: An Investigation on the Rings of Integer-Valued Polynomials on

Gaussian Integers and Integer-Valued Continuous Functions

Team Members: MOK Chun Hei, WEI Chi Kong, TO Wang Kin

Teacher: Mr. CHO Ka On

School: S.K.H. Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School

Topic: On the Generalization of the Triangle Peg Problem to

Higher Dimensions

Team Members: CHEUNG Hui Yat, FONG Pak Kiu, LEE Shing Him,

LEUNG Ka Chai Justin, TING Siu Lam

Teacher: Mr. CHU Wai Man

School: Wah Yan College, Kowloon

Topic: Investigation on the Buffon-Laplace Needle Problem

III. Committees and Panel (with affiliation at the time of the Awards)

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee comprises world-renowned mathematicians and is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards. It oversees the whole process of assessment, reviewing of the research reports, and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition.

Chair: Professor Richard Schoen, 2017 Wolf Prize Laureate in Mathematics; Stanford University, and University of California, Irvine

Members:

Professor Raymond Hon Fu Chan, City University of Hong Kong

Professor Andrew G. Cohen, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Ingrid Daubechies, Duke University

Professor Frederick Tsz-Ho Fong, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Jun Kigami, Kyoto University

Professor Gitta Kutyniok, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Professor Wei-Ping Li, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Jill Pipher, Brown University

Professor Van Vu, Yale University

Professor Tom Yau Heng Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Ya-xiang Yuan, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Professor Shou-Wu Zhang, Princeton University

Screening Panel

The Screening Panel under the Scientific Committee handles the initial review of the submitted research reports, supervises the second and final round of the review process, and liaises with all referees and members of the Scientific Committee regarding the research reports.

Chair: Professor Frederick Tsz-Ho Fong

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Members:

Professor Ivan Chi Ho Ip, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Tianling Jin, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Dr. Albert Yin Bon Ku, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Eric Marberg, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Maosheng Xiong, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of society, serves as the advisory body, and provides support, guidance, and oversight of the Awards.

Chair: Professor George F. Smoot, 2006 Nobel Laureate in Physics,
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Members:

Professor Thomas Kwok Keung Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Tony F. Chan, JP, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology

Mr. Alfred Cheung, Tianda Institute

Dr. Owen H. Ko, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Shing Yu Leung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Mr. Siu Leung Ma, BBS, MH, Fung Kai Public School

Professor Michael Kwok Po Ng, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Xue-Cheng Tai, Hong Kong Baptist University

Professor Yang Wang, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Ms. Susan Wong, Hang Lung Properties Limited

Dr. Chee Tim Yip, Princeton (Shenzhen) International School

Professor Ding-Xuan Zhou, City University of Hong Kong

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, which reports to the Steering Committee, is responsible for the operation and administration of the competition. Its Secretariat provides general administrative support to the Awards.

Chair: Professor Shing Yu Leung

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Members:

Professor Jimmy Chi Hung Fung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Dr. Tsz Kin Lam, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Dr. Chi Man Leung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Dr. Chi Wai Yu, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Secretariat:

Ms. Niki Hiu Yan Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology