About 2010 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards

I. Participation

In the 2010 HLMA, nearly 340 students and 75 teachers registered, representing over 100 teams from 75 schools. Among them, 46 teams submitted research reports.

II. Winners

Gold Award

Team Members:	Kwok Wing Tsoi, Ching Wong
Teacher:	Mr. Yan Ching Chan
School:	Po Leung Kuk Centenary Li Shiu Chung Memorial College
Topic:	Expressibility of Cosines as Sum of Basis

Silver Award

Team Member:	Ping Ngai Chung
Teacher:	Ms. Mee Lin Luk
School:	La Salle College
Topic:	Curve Optimization Problem

Bronze Award

Team Members:	Trevor Chak Yin Cheung, Yin To Chui
Teacher:	Mr. Kwok Kei Chang
School:	Buddhist Sin Tak College
Topic:	Orchard Visibility Problem

Hang Lung Mathematics Awards Vol. 4 (2010)

Honorable Mentions (arranged by school name in alphabetical order)

1.	Team Members:	On Ping Chung, Winson Che Shing Li, Hon Kei Lai, Wing Yan Shiao, Sung Him Wong
	Teacher:	Mr. Wing Kwong Wong
	School:	Hong Kong Chinese Women's Club College
	Topic:	A Study of Infectious Diseases Through Mathematical
	-	Modeling
2.	Team Members:	Chung Yin Chan, Rennie Lee
	Teacher:	Mr. Ka Wo Leung
	School:	Hong Kong True Light College
	Topic:	Dividing a Circle with the Least Curve
3.	Team Member:	Pak Hin Li
	Teacher:	Mr. Chi Ming Chan
	School:	Po Leung Kuk Vicwood K.T. Chong Sixth Form College
	Topic:	Magic Squares of Squares
4.	Team Members:	Ho Kwan Suen, Tin Yau Chan, Tsz Shan Ma,
	Teacher:	Pak Hay Chan Mr. Cheuk Yin Au
	School:	
		Pui Ching Middle School
	Topic:	Spherical Fagnano's Problem and its Extensions
5.	Team Members:	Ho Ming Wong, Man Han Leung, Wing Yee Wong,
		Hon Ka Hui, Tin Chak Mak
	Teacher:	Mr. Chi Keung Lai
	School:	Shatin Pui Ying College
	Topic:	The Erdős-Szekeres Conjecture ("Happy End Problem")

III. Committees and Panel (with affiliations at the time of the Awards)

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee comprises world renowned mathematicians and is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards. It oversees the whole process of assessment, including the review of the research project reports and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition as well as the awards.

Chair: Professor Shing-Tung Yau, 1982 Fields Medalist; Harvard University
Professor Chong-Qing Cheng, Nanjing University
Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor John H. Coates, University of Cambridge
Professor Jean-Marc Fontaine, University of Paris-Sud
Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Eduard J.N. Looijenga, Utrecht University
Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong
Professor Duong H. Phong, Columbia University
Professor Gilbert Strang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor Ngo Viet Trung, Institute of Mathematics, VAST
Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Tom Wan, Taiwan University

Screening Panel

The Screening Panel is a subcommittee of the Scientific Committee. It handles the initial screening of each report, supervises the external review process, and serves as a bridge between all referees and members of the Scientific Committee.

Chair: Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong Professor Conan Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Dr. Chi-Hin Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong HANG LUNG MATHEMATICS AWARDS Vol. 4 (2010)

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of the society and serves as an advisory body that oversees the operation of the competition.

Chair: Professor Sir James A. Mirrlees, 1996 Nobel Laureate in Economics; The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Tony F. Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong
Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Mr. Siu Leung Ma, Fung Kai Public School
Dr. Stephen Tommis, The Hong Kong Academy for Gifted Education
Professor Lo Yang, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Ms. Carolina Yip, Hang Lung Properties Limited
Dr. Chee Tim Yip, Pui Ching Middle School

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a subcommittee of the Steering Committee. It is in charge of the administration, promotion, team registration, communication, and organization of events including the oral defense.

Chair: Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Dr. Ka-Luen Cheung, The Hong Kong Institute of Education
Dr. Leung-Fu Cheung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Dr. Charles Li, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Secretariat:
Ms. Mavis Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Ms. Sarona Vin, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms. Serena Yip, The Chinese University of Hong Kong