About 2014 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards

I. Participation

In the 2014 HLMA, nearly 220 students and 47 teachers registered, representing nearly 70 teams from 42 schools. Among them, 34 teams submitted research reports.

II. Winners

Gold Award

Team Member: Yuk Lun Fong

Teacher: Mr. Kwok Kei Chang School: Buddhist Sin Tak College

Topic: Investigation of the Erdős-Straus Conjecture

Silver Award

Team Members: Yan Lam Fan, Wai Pan Yik

Teacher: Mr. Ho Fung Lee

School: Pui Ching Middle School

Topic: Pseudo Pythagorean Triples Generator for Perpendicular

Median Triangles

Bronze Award

Team Members: Hok Kan Yu, Dave Lei, Ka Chun Wong, Sin Cheung Tang

Teacher: Mr. Yan Ching Chan

School: Po Leung Kuk Centenary Li Shiu Chung Memorial College

Topic: Probability, Matrices, Colouring and Hypergraphs

Honorable Mentions (arranged by school name in alphabetical order)

1. Team Members: Man Him Ho, Chun Lai Yip, Yat Wong,

Yin Kei Tam

Teacher: Mr. Alexander Kin Chit O School: G.T. (Ellen Yeung) College

Topic: Classification of Prime Numbers by Prime

Number Trees

2. Team Members: Kam Chuen Tung, Luke Lut Yin Lau

Teacher: Ms. Mee Lin Luk School: La Salle College

Topic: Two Methods for Investigating the Generalized

Tic-Tac-Toe

3. Team Members: Chun Kit Du, Tung Him Lam, Hok Leung Chan,

Chi Ming Ng, Kai Yin Ng

Teacher: Mr. Kwok Tai Wong

School: S.K.H. Lam Woo Memorial Secondary School
Topic: A General Formula to Check the Divisibility by

All Odd Divisors and its Extensions

4. Team Members: Chi Cheuk Tsang, Ho Lung Tsui,

Justin Chi Ho Tang, Ian Yu Young Kwan,

Chun Hin Kwan

Teacher: Mr. Perrick King Bor Ching

School: St. Joseph's College

Topic: On the Geometric Construction of Triangles and

the Algebraic Interpretation of the Notion of

Constructability

5. Team Members: Josephine Yik Chong Leung, Wai Shan Lui

Teacher: Mr. Tad Ming Lee School: Ying Wa Girls' School

Topic: The Application of Graph Theory to Sudoku

III. Committees and Panel (with affiliations at the time of the Awards)

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee comprises world renowned mathematicians and is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards. It oversees the whole process of assessment, including the review of the research project reports and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition as well as the awards.

Chair: Professor Shing-Tung Yau, 1982 Fields Medalist; Harvard University and The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Lars Andersson, The Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics

Professor Raymond Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Tony F. Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, Tsinghua University

Professor Jaigyoung Choe, Korea Institute for Advanced Study

Professor Ingrid Daubechies, Duke University

Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor John M. Lee, University of Washington

Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Duong H. Phong, Columbia University

Professor Mark A. Stern, Duke University

Professor Ye Tian, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Michael Wolf, Rice University

Screening Panel

The Screening Panel is a subcommittee of the Scientific Committee. It handles the initial screening of each report, supervises the external review process, and serves as a bridge between all referees and members of the Scientific Committee.

Chair: Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Chi-Hin Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Conan Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Charles Li, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of the society and serves as an advisory body that oversees the operation of the competition.

Chair: Professor Sir James A. Mirrlees, 1996 Nobel Laureate in Economics; The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Tony F. Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Shiu-Yuen Cheng, Tsinghua University

Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong

Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr. Siu Leung Ma, Fung Kai Public School

Ms. Michelle Mak, Hang Lung Properties Limited

Professor Tai-Kai Ng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Zhouping Xin, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Chee Tim Yip, Pui Ching Middle School

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a subcommittee of the Steering Committee. It is in charge of the administration, promotion, team registration, communication, and organization of events including the oral defense.

Chair: Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Ka-Luen Cheung, The Hong Kong Institute of Education

Dr. Leung-Fu Cheung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Secretariat:

Ms. Mandy Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms. Konnie Pak, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms. Serena Yip, The Chinese University of Hong Kong