## ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

A few years ago, Hang Lung Properties sponsored the publication of the first series of winning papers of Hang Lung Mathematics Awards (HLMA). This is the second book of the second series of a similar publishing project, a meaningful task made possible again by the donations of Hang Lung Properties.

Since 2004, Mr. Ronnie C. Chan and Professor Shing-Tung Yau has sparked changes in the trajectory of the mathematics education in Hong Kong by launching the initiative of HLMA. Professor Yau has been the academic leader for the Awards and Mr. Ronnie C. Chan and Hang Lung Properties have generously supported HLMA throughout the years.

HLMA is reputed for its intellectual excellence, which stems from a rigorous process of assessment and review and the strong governance of the Scientific Committee. The professional judgment of Alexander Grigoryan, Yaoping Hou, Jiaxin Hu, Jianguo Huang, Wen Huang, Yuk-kam Lau, Ka Ho Law, Qinghui Liu, Jihua Ma, Kit-Ho Mak, Yanhui Qu, Hui Rao, Anupam Saikia, Song Shao, Yugang Shi, Baorui Song, Bo Tan, Zhenhan Tu, Gengsheng Wang, Yingnan Wang, Maosheng Xiong, Jiayan Yao, Shunli Zhang, and Guobiao Zhou is crucial in the process. The Screening Panel is indebted to their dedicated efforts.

For all the years, HLMA has also benefitted from the excellent guidance of the Steering Committee which resulted in the wide recognition of the Awards not only in the education sector, but the community as a whole. The Executive Committee, chaired by Thomas Au, also wishes to express its appreciation to a group of unsung heroes, including his colleagues in the department and the secretariat led by Serena Yip. In addition, the contribution of the team led by Carolina Yip and Susan Wong from Hang Lung Properties has been invaluable.

We are fortunate that Kwok Wai Chan has joined and led the editorial work of this series. The continual support of Man Chuen Cheng and Jingjing Xiao is vital. They would like to express their sincere gratitude to David Lau, Yingnan Wang, and Leonard Wong for their careful reading and editorial comment on the papers. The technical team led by Ka Ho Wong and Chi Fai Chau, the coordination of Aggie Law, the team led by Carolina Yip also played a crucial role in the editorial process.

Thomas Au Kwok Wai Chan