# About 2008 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards

## I. Participation

In the 2008 HLMA, 230 students and 57 teachers registered, representing nearly 80 teams from 50 schools. Among them, 50 teams submitted research reports.

## II. Winners

## Gold Award

Team Members:	Kwok Chung Li, Chi Fai Ng
Teacher:	Mr. Wing Kay Chang
School:	Shatin Tsung Tsin Secondary School
Topic:	Isoareal and Isoperimetric Deformation of Curves

## Silver Award

Team Members:	Chi Yeung Lam, Yin Tat Lee
Teacher:	Mr. Chun Kit Ho
School:	The Methodist Church HK Wesley College
Topic:	Sufficient Condition of Weight-Balance Tree

# Bronze Award

Team Members:	Ka Chun Hong, Wai Kwun Kung, Fung Ming Ng, Chi Chung Wan
Teacher:	Mr. Yiu Kwong Lau
School:	S.K.H. Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School
Topic:	Fermat Point Extension – Locus, Location, and Local Use

Hang Lung Mathematics Awards Vol. 3 (2008)

Honorable Mentions (listed by school name in alphabetical order)

1.	Team Member:	Jun Hou Fung
	Teacher:	Mr. Jonathan Hamilton
	School:	Canadian International School of Hong Kong
	Topic:	A Cursory Disproof of Euler's Conjecture Concerning
		Graeco-Latin Squares by Means of Construction
2.	Team Member:	Cheuk Ting Li
	Teacher:	Ms. Mee Lin Luk
	School:	La Salle College
	Topic:	Equidecomposition Problem
3.	Team Member:	Shun Yip
	Teacher:	Mr. Chi Keung Lai
	School:	Shatin Pui Ying College
	Topic:	3n+1 Conjecture (Collatz Conjecture)
4.	Team Members:	Kin Ho Lo, Wai Hang Ng, Maureen Tsz Yan Ho,
		Kai Ming To, Shun On Hui
	Teacher:	Mr. Wai Hung Ho
	School:	Tsuen Wan Public Ho Chuen Yiu Memorial College
	Topic:	Geometric Construction - Area Trisection of a Circle
	-	

# III. Committees and Panel (affiliations at the time of the Awards)

#### Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is the academic and adjudicating body of the Hang Lung Mathematics Awards and comprises world renowned mathematicians. It oversees the whole process of assessment, including reviewing the research project reports and conducting the oral defense. The committee upholds the academic integrity and high standard of the mathematics research competition as well as the awards.

Chair: Professor Shing-Tung Yau, 1982 Fields Medalist; Harvard University and The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Tony F. Chan, University of California, Los Angeles Professor David C. Chang, Polytechnic Institute of New York University Professor Chong-Qing Cheng, Nanjing University Professor John H. Coates, University of Cambridge Professor Benedict H. Gross, Harvard University Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Jian-Shu Li, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Professor Chang-Shou Lin, Taiwan University Professor Jill P. Mesirov, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard Professor Kenneth C. Millett, University of California, Santa Barbara Professor Ngaiming Mok, The University of Hong Kong Professor Stanley J. Osher, University of California, Los Angeles Professor Duong H. Phong, Columbia University Professor Wilfried Schmid, Harvard University Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Hung-Hsi Wu, University of California, Berkeley

## Screening Panel

The Screening Panel is a subcommittee of the Scientific Committee. It handles the initial screening of each report, supervises the external review process, and serves as a bridge between all referees and members of the Scientific Committee.

*Chair:* Professor Tom Wan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong Professor Conan Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong HANG LUNG MATHEMATICS AWARDS Vol. 3 (2008)

## **Steering Committee**

The Steering Committee comprises mathematicians and leaders from different sectors of the society and serves as an advisory body that oversees the operation of the competition.

Chair: Professor Sir James A. Mirrlees, 1996 Nobel Laureate in Economics; The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Wing Sum Cheung, The University of Hong Kong
Professor Ka-Sing Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Jian-Shu Li, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Mr. Siu Leung Ma, Fung Kai Public School
Mr. Chun Kau Poon, HKFYG Lee Shau Kee College
Ms. Susan Wong, Hang Lung Properties Limited
Professor Lo Yang, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Mr. Chee Tim Yip, Pui Ching Middle School

## **Executive Committee**

The Executive Committee is a subcommittee of the Steering Committee. It is in charge of the administration, promotion, team registration, communication, and organization of events including the oral defense.

Chair: Professor Thomas Au, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Dr. Ka-Luen Cheung, The Hong Kong Institute of Education Dr. Leung-Fu Cheung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Dr. Charles Chun-Che Li, The Chinese University of Hong Kong Secretariat: Ms. Serena Wing Hang Yip, The Chinese University of Hong Kong