Prof. Ngaiming Mok – Esteemed Mathematician and HLMA Advocate, joins 2023 Scientific Committee

Professor Ngaiming Mok is a staunch supporter of Hang Lung Mathematics Awards (HLMA) and has been serving on the Scientific Committee since the inauguration in 2004. He is the Edmund and Peggy Tse Professor in Mathematics and Chair of Mathematics at The University of Hong Kong, specializing in several complex variables, complex differential geometry and algebraic geometry.

Professor Mok was elected as a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), and a member of the Hong Kong Academy of Sciences. He gave an Invited Lecture at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in 1994, and served on the prestigious Fields Medal Committee in 2010. Most recently, he joined the Shaw Prize as a member of the selection committee for the Prize in Mathematical Sciences, further solidifying his reputation as a respected scholar.

Professor Mok has received prestigious awards including the Sloan Fellowship, the Presidential Young Investigator Award, the Croucher Senior Fellowship Award, the State Natural Science Award (Class II) of China, and the Bergman Prize of the American Mathematical Society. Recently, he received the 2022 Future Science Prize – Mathematics and Computer Science, and the 2002 Tan Kah Kee Science Award in Mathematics and Physics.